New dollar: coin from Republic of China (Taiwan)


10 new dollars, 2011: Republic of China (Taiwan)

10 new dollars, 2011: Republic of China (Taiwan)

Republic of China (ROC) — country in East Asia. Main part is located on the Taiwan island (but 168 islands in total), near the People's Republic of China (PRC), Japan and Philippines. Taiwan is among the most densely populated countries in the world.

ROC CALENDAR 100 (The Republic of China /ROC/ calendar or Minguo calendar — the calendar uses 1912, the year of the establishment of the Republic of China, as the first year) = 2011 (Gregorian calendar).

10 圓: 10 dollar (yuan).

Hidden images on metal as an interesting, but no longer unique, high-tech design solution and an additional element of protection: depending on the viewing angle, different inscriptions appear that are invisible when looking at the coin at a right angle (as in the photo) — on the banner above the denomination alternately you can see the inscriptions 國泰 and 民安 (idiom: the country flourishes and the people are living in peace), and inside the number "0" the contours of the island of Taiwan and plum blossom or prunus mume (the national flower of the Republic of China) appear alternately.

A large dot under the denomination of the coin.

中華民國: Republic of China.

100 年: 100-th year (2011 by the Gregorian calendar).

Sun Yat-sen — Chinese statesman who served as the first provisional president of the Republic of China. He is called the "Father of the Nation" in the Republic of China (ROC) and in the People's Republic of China (PRC) for his instrumental role in the overthrow of the Qing dynasty. Sun Yat-sen is unique among Chinese leaders for being widely revered by both the Communist Party in Mainland China and the Nationalist Party in Taiwan.

Central Mint of Taiwan (subsidiary company of the Central Bank of the Republic of China).

  • Copper-nickel: 26 mm - 7.55 g
  • Reference price: 0.9$

COIN NEW DOLLAR — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. REPUBLIC OF CHINA (1960-...): new dollar = 10 jiao = 100 fen

NEW DOLLAR as coin name.
The official currency of the island state of the Republic of China (Taiwan) since 1949 is the new dollar.
I, dealing with my favorite topic of coin collecting (one coin of different names: denominations, conventional names of certain types of coins...), decided to consider denominations containing the prefix "New" as separate names: new agora, new sheqel, new penny...
Usually everything is simple there. But not this time. — What is the difficulty?
The fact is that this currency is officially written as "新臺幣" ("New Taiwan dollar" or "New Taiwan currency"). But this writing of the denomination is found only on a few Taiwanese coins. In most cases, the denomination is written without mentioning "New" and simply as "圓" (the literal translation is round; however, this character also denotes such a monetary unit as yuan of the mainland People's Republic of China).
By the way, during 1895-1946, the island of Taiwan, which at that time was part of the Japanese Empire, used the local currency — the Taiwanese yen. This monetary unit was also denoted as 圓.
The first coins minted as New Taiwan Dollars date back to 1960. Although this coin is considered a new dollar (this is indicated in numismatic catalogs, and in essence it was already the new currency of Taiwan), the denomination on it is indicated in the format "壹圓" (one yuan).
Quite a confusing story...