Toea: coin of Independent State of Papua New Guinea


10 toea, 1976: Independent State of Papua New Guinea

10 toea, 1976: Independent State of Papua New Guinea

10 t: 10 toea.

Common spotted cuscus (Latina "Spilocuscus maculatus:), also known as the white cuscus — marsupial that lives in Australia, New Guinea, and nearby smaller islands.


Emblem of Papua New Guinea: a bird-of-paradise (national bird of Papua New Guinea) over a traditional spear and a kundu drum (hourglass shaped drum used to accompany formal occasions, religious ceremonies and for celebrations).

Coin design: Richard Renninger — medalist of the Franklin Mint (USA).

A type of coin without The Franklin Mint mark.

Royal Mint (United Kingdom).

  • Copper-nickel: 24 mm - 5.66 g
  • Reference price: 1$

COIN TOEA — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. INDEPENDENT STATE OF PAPUA NEW GUINEA (1975-...): toea = 1/100 kina

TOEA as coin name.
Toea — modern small exchange coin of Papua New Guinea (a country in Oceania located in the eastern part of the island of New Guinea; the west of the island belongs to Australia). It is a hundredth part of the local currency — kina, introduced in 1975.
The first toea coins were dated 1975. They were coins of denominations 1, 2, 5, 10 and 20 toea. In addition to mass circulations, the Franklin Mint (USA) additionally minted small coins of high quality intended for sale to numismatists. In 1980, metal 50 toea were also presented. Interestingly, until 2021, this denomination was issued only in the form of circulating commemorative coins of Papua New Guinea: South Pacific Festival of Arts, South Pacific Games, Anniversary of the Bank of Papua New Guinea, Anniversary of Statehood...
The name of the toea coin, translated from the local language Hiri Motu, means one of the rare varieties of sea shells that were used on the island as a substitute for money in the pre-coinage period. Historically, the currency of Papua New Guinea is sometimes called a cent.