Kina: coin of Independent State of Papua New Guinea


2 kina, 2008: Independent State of Papua New Guinea

2 kina, 2008: Independent State of Papua New Guinea

Circulating commemorative coin.

K 2: 2 kina.


35th ANNIVERSARY, 1973-2008: the coin is dedicated to the anniversary of the establishment of the Bank of Papua New Guinea, which began its work immediately after the declaration of independence of the island state from Australia.

Bank of Papua New Guinea logo.


Emblem of Papua New Guinea: a bird-of-paradise (national bird of Papua New Guinea) over a traditional spear and a kundu drum (hourglass shaped drum used to accompany formal occasions, religious ceremonies and for celebrations).

  • Bimetallic — aluminium-bronze centre in copper-nickel plated steel ring: 33 mm - 12 g
  • Reference price: 2.9$

COIN KINA — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. INDEPENDENT STATE OF PAPUA NEW GUINEA (1975-...): kina = 100 toea

KINA as coin name.
Kina — official currency of Papua New Guinea: a country in Oceania that occupies the eastern part of the island of New Guinea.
Introduced currency in 1975 instead of Australian dollars; divided by 100 toea.
The first kina coins were dated to the same year, 1975. Several denominations were issued, but no coin other than 1 kina entered mass circulation. 5 and 10 kina are represented in small mintages.
Interestingly, the design of one of the first ever modern Papua New Guinea 1 kina coins has remained constant for more than a quarter of a century, while the coin's dimensions, metal and weight have undergone some changes.
The name of the kina coin comes from the word in the local language Kuanua (Tolai language), which means necklace made from shells of the gold lipped pearl oyster, which were polished into crescent form and in ancient times was widely used on the island as a substitute for money.