Sesino: coin from Duchy of Parma and Piacenza


Sesino, 1694-1727: Duchy of Parma and Piacenza

Sesino, 1694-1727: Duchy of Parma and Piacenza

Ruler: Francesco Farnese — 7th Duke of Parma and Piacenza from 1694 until 1727.

SESINO DI PARMA: sesino of Parma.

Legend surrounded by lilies (azure lilies are the basis of the family coat of arms of the Farnese House).

FRAN F P P DVX VII: Francesco Farnese Seventh Duke of Parma and Piacenza (completely lost legend due to both the extremely low quality of the coin and its total damage received during the long period of circulation).

Crowned coat of arms of Francesco Farnese (based on the coat of arms of the House of Farnese).

  • Copper: 15 mm - 1.18 g
  • Reference price: 8$

COIN SESINO — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. DUCHY OF PARMA AND PIACENZA (16th-18th centuries): sesino = 6 denari
  2. ITALIAN STATES (14th-18th centuries) — Bozzolo, Castiglione Delle Stiviere, Duchy of Ferrara, Duchy of Mantua, Duchy of Milan, Duchy of Mirandola, Duchy of Modena and Reggio, Duchy of Sabbioneta, Duchy of Urbino, Republic of Venice, Bologna...: sesino = 6 denari
  3. SWISS CANTONS (15th-16th centuries) — Lordship of Mesocco: sesino

SESINO (plural: sesini) as coin name.
Sesino — historical Italian coin equal to 6 denaro or 1/2 soldo. It was made of copper, billon and silver.
The earliest references to sesino, which were found me, refer to Milan at the end of the 14th century (the reign of Duke Gian Galeazzo Visconti). It was a silver coin weighing about 1 gram. Milanese sesino were minted for almost three centuries in a row and were equal to 1/240 of a scudo.
In the collections of numismatists there are also sesino of the following issuers: Bozzolo, Castiglione Delle Stiviere, Mantua, Mirandola, Modena, Bologna, Parma, Piacenza, Sabbioneta, Urbino, Venice... All this is the north of Italy.
Sesino was also issued in the Lordship of Mesocco, modern Switzerland.
The name of the coin sesino indicates that the coin is equal to 6 denaro (Italian "Sei" — Six). For Genoa and Savona in the 16th century an equivalent coin — patachina, — was minted.
The following purely Italian coin denominations can be placed in the same row as the sesino: trillina (3 denaro), quattrino (4 denaro).