Yuan: coin from People's Republic of China; 100 fen


1 yuan, 1991: People's Republic of China

1 yuan, 1991: People's Republic of China

Circulating commemorative coin.

中国共产党成立七十周年: 70th anniversary of the founding of the Chinese Communist Party.

第一次全国代表大会 <1921>: The First National Congress <1921> (Chinese Communist Party — the leading and governing political party of the People's Republic of China, as well as the largest political party in the world; founded in 1921, came to power after the defeat of the Nationalist Party of China /Kuomintang or KMT/ in the Civil War).

The 1st National Congress of the Chinese Communist Party was held in Shanghai and Jiaxing in 1921. The Congress established the Chinese Communist Party. It began in a shikumen building of the French Concession area of Shanghai.

壹圆: one yuan.

The site of the 1st National Congress of the Chinese Communist Party (inside this house, built in the traditional Shanghainese Shikumen architectural style, is now the Shanghai Museum).

Emblem of the Chinese Communist Party (stylized hammer and sickle).

Plant ornament.

中华人民共和国: People's Republic of China.


National Emblem of the People's Republic of China: Tiananmen Gate — the entrance gate to the Forbidden City in Beijing, which symbolize the ancient traditions of the Chinese nation; 5 stars: the largest star represents the Chinese Communist Party, while the four smaller stars represent the four social classes as defined in Maoism.

Mintage: 30.000.000.

  • Nickel plated steel: 25 mm - 5.83 g
  • Reference price: 2.5$

COIN YUAN — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. ...a lot of different Chinese issuers (19th century-…): EMPIRE OF CHINA + CHINESE PROVINCES + REPUBLIC OF CHINA + PEOPLE’S REPUBLIC OF CHINA: yuan = 10 jiao = 100 fen

YUAN as coin name.
Yuan (Chinese "元" ) — modern monetary unit and coin of China (the People's Republic of China: since its proclamation in 1949). Since 1969, the currency has been officially called "Renminbi" ("People's Currency"). Consists of 10 jiao or 100 fen.
It is one of the five most widely used currencies in the world.
Some sources occasionally refer to Taiwan and Hong Kong dollars and Macau pataca as yuan. The fact is that in the Chinese language the term "yuan" is used to designate the monetary units of any countries, and the above-mentioned territories are precisely Chinese-speaking. In international practice, only the currency of the People's Republic of China is considered to be the yuan.
Yuan first appeared at the end of the first half of the 19th century in the form of silver coins. However, at that time, another monetary unit remained the main one — the tael (or liǎng). Until 1933, silver ingots of different weights were used for calculations; weight was counted in tael, which served as both a measure of weight and money. Also, a small coin of China — bronze cast cash — was minted en masse.
Gradually, the yuan took the role of the main Chinese currency. Before the formation of the People's Republic of China, various Chinese provinces were involved in the issuance of their own yuan (local varieties; often the denomination was indicated simultaneously in yuan and dollar format): Anhui, Hebei, Hunan, Yunnan...
Since the second half of the 20th century the issuance of a single yuan began (common to territories of all Chinese provinces).
The character 圓, which denotes the name of the yuan coin, literally translates as "round", "round coin". By the way, this character is used only in financial documents and other formal cases in order to minimize the probability of an error. Usually, yuan is written as 元, that is, in a simplified, more convenient form. In everyday life, yuan is often called another way — kuai.
It is interesting that the names of the currencies of Japan, Korea and, to some extent, Mongolia come from the yuan: yen, won and tögrög, respectively.