Baisa: coin from Sultanate of Muscat and Oman


100 baisa, 1970: Sultanate of Muscat and Oman

100 baisa, 1970: Sultanate of Muscat and Oman

The coin is dated 1970 — the last year of existence of the Sultanate of Muscat and Oman. It was this year that Oman's independence from Great Britain was declared. Since then, the state of Oman has existed.

Ruler: Said bin Taimur — the 13th Sultan of Muscat and Oman from 1932 until 1970.

Date on coin: AH 1390 (AH: Latin "Anno Hegirae" — "the year of the Hijra"; Islamic calendar) = 1970 (Gregorian calendar).

١٠٠: 100.

بيسة: baisa.

١٣٩٠: 1390.

National emblem of Muscat and Oman (twice — on both sides of the digital designation of the coin denomination).

سعيد بن تيمور: Said bin Taimur.

سلطان مسقط وعمان: Sultan of Muscat and Oman.

The national emblem of Oman (and Sultanate of Muscat and Oman) — khanjar (traditional local dagger, that has spread to the all of the Middle East, South Asia and the Balkans; it is a short curved blade shaped like the Latin letter "J") inside its sheath that is superimposed upon two crossed swords.

Royal Mint (United Kingdom).

Mintage: 994.500.

  • Copper-nickel: 28 mm - 11.31 g
  • Reference price: 11$

COIN BAISA — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. OMAN (DHOFAR GOVERNORATE + SULTANATE OF MUSCAT AND OMAN + SULTANATE OF OMAN, 1940-...): baisa = 1/1000 rial (before 1972: baisa = 1/200 rial dhofari & rial saidi)

BAISA as coin name.
Baisa (in Arabic "بيسة") — currency and coin of the Sultanate of Oman, which since 1970 is 1/1000 of the Omani rial. Before changing the name of the state in 1970, the baisa was 1/200th of the rial of the Sultanate of Muscat and Oman. The first baisa coins of Oman are identical in design to the baisa of Muscat and Oman in 1970.
The very first coins, which are called baisa in numismatic catalogs, appeared in 1940. The issuer is Dhofar Governorate (part of modern Oman). This baisa was 1/200 of a dhofari rial.
The baisa of Oman (like the poisha of Bangladesh) is etymologically equivalent to the paisa of India, Pakistan, Afghanistan and Nepal. In fact, the coin name baisa is derived from the older Indian paisa.
It is also known about the most closely related coin name — the baiza of Kuwait and Yemen at the end of the 19th century.