Kwanza: coin from Republic of Angola; 100 cêntimo


1 kwanza, 2012: Republic of Angola

1 kwanza, 2012: Republic of Angola


National fabric ornament.

BANCO NACIONAL DE ANGOLA: National Bank of Angola.

Seal of the National Bank of Angola (abbreviation BNA).

Moscow Mint (Russia).

  • Brass plated steel: 22 mm - 5.05 g
  • Reference price: 1.1$

COIN KWANZA — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. ANGOLA (1977-...) — PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF ANGOLA + REPUBLIC OF ANGOLA: kwanza = 100 lwei; kwanza = 100 cêntimo (since 1999)

KWANZA as coin name.
Kwanza is official currency of Angola since 1977, which was initially divided into 100 lwei, and since 1999 — into 100 cêntimos.
Introduced into circulation instead of the Angolan escudo almost immediately after the declaration of independence from Portugal.
The first series of coins of independent Angola were presented in the following denominations: 50 lwei, as well as 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 kwanzas.
After the currency reform (in 1999) 1, 2, and 5 kwanza coins of the new type began to be used in circulation. Also appeared the first anniversary/commemorative non-circulating kwanzas, namely: copper-nickel 10-kwanza coins ("2000 Summer Olympics, Sydney" and "Prince Henry the Navigator") and silver — 100-kwanza coins (also dedicated to the XXVII Olympic Games in Australia).
The name of the Angolan currency and coin kwanza comes from the name of a vital local river — Kwanza / Cuanza / Quanza (the main source of hydroelectric power in the state).