Kopeck-ruble | Grosz-zloty: coins of Russian partition of Poland


15 kopeck | 1 zloty, 1838: Kingdom of Poland (as part of the Russian Empire)

15 kopeck | 1 zloty, 1838: Kingdom of Poland (as part of the Russian Empire)

Ruler: Nicholas I — Emperor of Russia, King of Congress Poland and Grand Duke of Finland.

15 КОПѢЕКЪ | 1 ZŁOTY: 15 kopeck | 1 zloty (the denomination of the coin is indicated in a double format — in Russian in Russian kopecks and in Polish in Polish zlotych).

ЧИСТАГО СЕРЕБРА 60 ¾ ДОЛИ: 60 ¾ dolias of pure silver (dolia — the smallest old Russian unit of measurement of mass: 44.435 mg).

Coat of arms of the Russian Empire: double-headed eagle (the use of the double-headed eagle as a Russian coat of arms goes back to the 15th century; with the fall of Constantinople and the end of the Byzantine Empire in 1453, the Grand Dukes of Muscovy falsely and with intent to mislead began to call themselves as the successors of the Byzantine heritage).

MW: Polish "Mennica Warszawska" — Warsaw Mint (Poland).

Mintage: 3.617.048.

  • Silver (0.868): 20 mm - 3.01 g
  • Reference price: 27$

COINS KOPECK-RUBLE | GROSZ-ZLOTY — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. POLAND (1832-1850) — Congress Kingdom of Poland or Russian Poland: kopeck-ruble | grosz-zloty

Kopeck-ruble | Grosz-zloty is an informal name for Russian-Polish silver and gold coins of the 19th century. They were minted during 1832-1850 (Kingdom of Poland as part of the Russian Empire) with dual denominations: Russian kopeck / ruble and Polish grosz / zloty. Interestingly, these coins were a valid means of payment throughout the empire.
As a result of the decisions of the Congress of Vienna, during the years 1815-1875 there was an autonomous Polish state within the Russian Empire. The empire made efforts to assimilate the Poles, including in matters of the financial sphere.
Since 1832 the issue of coins with double denominations (Polish and Russian) with legends in Polish and Russian, respectively, began. In this way, an attempt was made to gradually acquaint the Polish population with the standards of the Russian Empire: both in matters of money and in linguistic aspects.
In total, during 18 years of minting, the following silver and gold coins appeared:
  • 5 kopecks / 10 groszy (silver, only proofs: numismatic rarity)
  • 10 kopecks / 20 groszy (silver, only proofs: numismatic rarity)
  • 15 kopecks / 1 zloty (silver)
  • 20 kopecks / 40 groszy (silver)
  • 25 kopecks / 50 groszy (silver)
  • 30 kopecks / 2 zlote (silver)
  • ¾ ruble / 5 zlotych (silver)
  • 1½ ruble / 10 zlotych (silver)
  • 3 rubles / 20 zlotych (gold)
Some of the mentioned coins were produced in St. Petersburg (Russia), but most were produced in the capital of Poland (Warsaw Mint).
As can be seen from the denominations, 1 zloty equaled 15 kopecks. In turn, each zloty consisted of 30 groszy, while the ruble consisted of 100 kopecks.
In numismatics, of course, there is no "Kopeck-ruble | Grosz-zloty" denomination. The above-mentioned coins are united under the common name "Polish-Russian coins" or "Russian-Polish coins". Also, the mentioned coins (but not all) are part of the group of so-called "Russian coins of the Warsaw Mint" (1842-1864).