Øre: coin from Greenland as colony of Denmark


25 øre, 1926: Greenland (colony of Denmark)

25 øre, 1926: Greenland (colony of Denmark)

Ruler: Christian X (Christian Carl Frederik Albert Alexander Vilhelm) — King of Denmark, 1912-1947.

25 ØRE.

19·G·S·26: year (1926) and abbreviation for "Grønlands Styrelse" (GS).

Microsigns HCN and GJ of engravers (Hans Christian Nielsen and Gunnar Jensen) + heart as symbol of Royal Danish Mint.

Horizontal polar bear (on the coat of arms of Greenland it is depicted, but in a vertical position).

GRØNLANDS STYRELSE: Greenland Government (Administration).

Lesser coat of arms of Denmark: crowned shield with three lions passant wearing crowns and heraldic hearts.

Royal Danish Mint (Copenhagen, Denmark).

Mintage: 310.000.

  • Copper-nickel: 25 mm - 6.9 g
  • Reference price: 25$

COIN ØRE — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. GREENLAND as colonial possession of Denmark (1926): øre = 1/100 krone
  2. FAROE ISLANDS, occupation by Great Britain (1941): øre (exact design of Danish coins but without Royal Danish Mint mark and mintmaster's marks)
  3. KINGDOM OF DENMARK (1874-…): øre = 1/100 krone
  4. KINGDOM OF NORWAY (1874-…): øre = 1/100 krone

About the name of the coin øre: the name øre (as well as öre coin of Sweden and eyrir coin of Iceland) derives from the Latin word "aureus/aurum", meaning gold (we are talking about the ancient Roman gold coin aureus, which was widespread throughout Europe, including in the Scandinavian Peninsula).
In fact, Øre (Denmark, Norway, Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Öre (Sweden) and Eyrir (Iceland) are essentially the same coin, simply in different Scandinavian languages.
Other world coin names that are derived from the gold: öre, eyrir, gulden, guilder, złoty...