Peseta: coin of Basque Country (Euzkadi, 1937); 100 céntimo


2 pesetas, 1937: Basque Country (Euzkadi)

2 pesetas, 1937: Basque Country (Euzkadi)

Euzkadi or Euskadi (Basque Country) is an autonomous region in Spain in the Bay of Biscay; first gained autonomy during the Spanish Civil War (1936).

2 PESETAS - 1937 inside the wreath.

GOBIERNO DE EUZKADI: Government of Euzkadi (Basque Country).

Stylized sign AB under a portrait: design of coin Armand Bonnetain.

Liberty — a symbolic portrait of Freedom: the image of a young woman in a Phrygian cap.

Royal Mint of Belgium (Brussels).

Mintage: 2.000.000.

  • Nickel: 26 mm - 8 g
  • Reference price: 12$

COIN PESETA — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. SPAIN (1869-2001) — KINGDOM OF SPAIN + SPANISH REPUBLIC + SPANISH STATE (FRANCOIST SPAIN) + CIVIL WAR IN SPAIN (Euzkadi, Segarra de Gaia, Arenys de Mar, Ibi, Asturias and Leon, Menorca, Gratallops, Arahal...): peseta = 100 céntimo
  2. SPANISH STATES (Principality of Catalonia, 1808-1814): peseta = 24 quarto
  3. REPUBLIC OF PERU (1880-1882): peseta = 20 centavo
  4. REPUBLIC OF EQUATORIAL GUINEA (1969-1970): peseta = 100 céntimo (without céntimo coins)
  5. WESTERN SAHARA (1992-…): peseta = 100 céntimo (without céntimo coins)

The name of the peseta coin comes from the word "peceta", which in Catalan means "small piece" ("peça" — a piece + "-eta" — an indication of small size).
According to another version, the naming of the coin should be interpreted as "small peso"; in turn, the term "peso" in ancient times meant a measure of weight.
The peseta is for almost every modern numismatist, first of all, a purely Spanish coin. However, as mentioned above, this coin was minted not only by Spain. Moreover, it was not the Spaniards who firstly issued the coin, but the Catalans.