Abbasi: coin of Persia (Safavid dynasty)


1 abbasi, 1720: Safavid Persia (Iran)

1 abbasi, 1720: Safavid Persia (Iran)

Safavid Persia — one of the largest and long-standing Iranian empires after the 7th-century Muslim conquest of Persia, which was ruled from 1501 to 1736 by the Safavid dynasty. It is often considered the beginning of modern Iranian history. The Safavid Shah Ismail I established the Twelver denomination of Shia Islam as the official religion of the empire, marking one of the most important turning points in the history of Islam.

AH 1132 (AH: Latin "Anno Hegirae" — "the year of the Hijra"; Islamic calendar) = 1720 (Gregorian calendar).

Ruler: Soltan Hoseyn — the Safavid shah of Iran from 1694 to 1722. Throughout his reign, Soltan Hoseyn became known for his extreme superstition, impressionable personality, excessive pursuit of pleasure, debauchery, and wastefulness, all of which have been considered as elements that played a part in the decline of the country.

بنده شاه ولایت حسین ضرب اصفهان: The name of the ruler and the place of minting.

لا اله الا الله محمد رسول الله علی ولی الله: There is no deity but God; Muhammad is the messenger of God (This phrase, called the shahada, is the declaration of belief in the oneness of God and in Muhammad as His messenger. Recitation of the shahada is considered one of the five pillars of Islam by Sunni Muslims. By sincerely stating the shahada aloud before two witnesses, one is considered to have converted to Islam).

علی حسن حسین علی محمد جعفر موسی علی محمد علی حسن محمد: Names of the 12 Shia imams — Ali (Ali ibn Abi Talib), Hassan (Hasan ibn Ali), Hossein (Husayn ibn Ali), Ali (Ali ibn Husayn), Mohammad (Muhammad ibn Ali), Jafar (Ja'far ibn Muhammad), Musa (Musa ibn Ja'far), Ali (Ali ibn Musa), Mohammad (Muhammad ibn Ali), Ali (Ali ibn Muhammad), Hassan (Hasan ibn Ali), Mohammad (Hujjat Allah ibn al-Hasan).

Tabriz Mint (modern-day Iran).

  • Silver: 25 mm - 5.47 g
  • Reference price: 39$

COIN ABBASI — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. PERSIA (IRAN during 17th-19th centuries): abbasi = 4 shahi
  2. EMIRATE OF AFGHANISTAN (19th-20th centuries): abbasi = 1/3 rupee
  3. CENTRAL ASIA AND CAUCASIA (Khanates — Derbent, Ganja, Karabakh, Nakhjevan, Quba, Sheki, Shirvan...), 18th-19th centuries: abbasi

ABBASI as coin name.
Abbasi — historical silver and gold coin of Persia. First issued around 1620; emission lasted until the 20th century.
It was widely used in the lands of modern Iran, Iraq, Syria, Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan, as well as in eastern Africa.
As a rule, abbasi was a high-quality, rather large (over 5 g) silver coin. A number of mints of many cities on the territory of Iran (Persia) and neighboring lands engaged in production: Tabriz, Isfahan, Mashhad, Hamadan, Rasht, Qazvin, Ardabil, Kandahar, Tbilisi, Yerevan...
Abbasi main plot: names of a ruler, 12 shia Imams and indication of Mint. Without date and specified denomination. No graphic elements.
Each abbasi was divided into 4 shahi.
Abbasi coin was named after the ruler who first introduced it into circulation. We are talking about Abbas I the Great (1571-1629) — shah of Iran and Azerbaijan from the Safavid dynasty.
It is also known about related coins: for example, the Georgian abazi, which was minted in imitation of the Persian abbasi.