Anna: coin from Sultanate of Muscat and Oman


1/4 anna, 1898: Sultanate of Muscat and Oman

1/4 anna, 1898: Sultanate of Muscat and Oman

Sultanate of Muscat and Oman — was a sovereign state that encompassed the present-day Sultanate of Oman and parts of present-day United Arab Emirates and Pakistan. In fact, de jure it was sovereign state (1856-1970), de facto — British protectorate (1872-1920).

Ruler: Faisal bin Turki (Fessulbin Turkee) — Sultan of Muscat and Oman from 1888 to 1913.

Date on coin: AH 1315 (AH: Latin "Anno Hegirae" — "the year of the Hijra"; Islamic calendar) = 1898 (Gregorian calendar).

1/4 ANNA.

مسقط ضرب في: Struck in Muscat.

١٣١٥: 1315.


عمان تركي سلطان فيصل بن: Oman - Sultan Fessul bin Turkee.

Mintage: 19.110.000.

  • Copper: 26 mm - 5.07 g
  • Reference price: 8.0$

COIN ANNA — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. SULTANATE OF MUSCAT AND OMAN (1893-1899): anna = 1/16 rupee
  2. INDIA (various state entities on the territory of modern India, 18th-20th centuries): anna = 1/16 rupee
  3. ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF PAKISTAN (1948-1958): anna = 4 pice = 1/16 rupee

ANNA as coin name.
Anna (Hindustani "आना") — old Indian coin worth 1/16 of a rupee. Since the 18th century, the anna gained popularity as a currency of colonial British India (East India Company, Bengal Presidency, Bombay Presidency). Some Princely States (Bahawalpur, Bhopal, Dewas, Gwalior, Hyderabad, Indore, Jaipur, Jodhpur, Mewar, Sailana...) also minted their own varieties of this coin.
After India and Pakistan gained independence from Great Britain in 1947, the anna remained the coin of these countries until 1955 and 1958, respectively.
In addition, the Sultanate of Muscat and Oman, to some extent dependent on India, issued local 1/12 and 1/4 anna coins for a time from 1893.
The name of the anna coin has nothing to do with a European female name, as it may seem to some. The term comes from Sanskrit and according to various sources means literally either food ("अन्"), or indicates the size of a coin — small, tiny ("अणु").