Ternar: coin of Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth; 3 denar


Ternar, 1623-1630: Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth

Ternar, 1623-1630: Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth

The date on the coin is lost.

In Polish numismatics, the coin is well known as "Trzeciak łobżenicki".

Ruler: Sigismund III Vasa (Zygmunt III Waza) — King of Poland and Grand Duke of Lithuania (1587-1632), King of Sweden and Grand Duke of Finland (1592-1599).

TERNARIVS LOBZAN + ?unreadable date?: ternar of Łobżenica (nowadays small town in Poland).

Two-field coat of arms of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth (one Polish eagle and one Lithuanian horseman each).

SIG. III D. G. REX. P. M. D. L. (Latin "Sigismundus III Dei Gratia Rex Poloni, Magnus dux Lithuani" — "Sigismund III, by the grace of God, King of Poland, Grand Duke of Lithuania").

Stylized large capital "S": crowned monogram of Sigismund (center: coat of arms of House of Vasa).

Under the coat of arms is the sign (so-called the Bróg coat of arms: according to historians, it is one of the ten oldest Polish coats of arms) of the owner of the Lobzenica Mint, — Andrzej Krotoski.

Lobzenica Mint (Poland).

  • Silver (billon): 16 mm - 0.42 g
  • Reference price: 2.9$

COIN TERNAR — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. POLAND — KINGDOM OF POLAND + POLISH-LITHUANIAN COMMONWEALTH (14th-17th centuries): ternar = 3 denar
There are several types of Polish ternar — depending on the Mint and design features:
  • Trzeciak / ternar koronny
  • Trzeciak / ternar poznański
  • Trzeciak / ternar gdański
  • Trzeciak / ternar łobżenicki (demonstrated on this website page)

TERNAR as coin name. The name of the ternar coin reflects its essence: from the Latin "ternarius" — "triple" (three denar).
By the way, it is important not to confuse such two old Polish coins as ternar (three denar) and trojak (three grosz).