Quarter: coin from United States of America; 1/4 dollar


Quarter, 1908: United States of America

Quarter, 1908: United States of America

Among numismatists, the coin is known as BARBER QUARTER.



"E pluribus unum" — traditional motto of the United States (Latin for "Out of many, one"). The 13 letters of E PLURIBUS UNUM makes its use symbolic of the thirteen original states like the thirteen stripes on the US flag. The meaning of the phrase originates from the concept that out of the union of the original Thirteen Colonies emerged a new single nation.

Seal of the president of the United States (design, based on the Great Seal of the United States; the official coat of arms of the U.S. presidency).

13 stars around the heraldic bald eagle (13 — the number of British colonies that the USA formed in 1776).

D: below the tail of eagle is the Denver Mint symbol.

IN GOD WE TRUST: the official motto of the United States of America.

Liberty (personification): female Liberty was portrayed on United States coins for well over a century. This plot descends from images on ancient Roman coins of the Roman goddess Libertas. The coin belong to the so-called "The Barber coinage" series, which consists of a dime, quarter, and half dollar designed by the United States Bureau of the Mint Chief Engraver Charles E. Barber. They were minted between 1892 and 1916.

Mintage: 5.788.000.

  • Silver (0.900): 24 mm - 6.29 g
  • Reference price: 14$

COIN QUARTER — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. UNITED STATES OF AMERICA (1796-...): quarter = 25 cent = 1/4 dollar

QUARTER as coin name.
Quarter — US 25 cent coin; quarter of a dollar. Coined, like the dime, since 1796.
On the first quarters, the denomination was indicated as "25 cents". Only in 1838 did a new wording appear — the Quarter Dollar.
Until 1964, the coin was made of silver. Later — a copper-nickel alloy.
A characteristic feature of the silver quarters of the United States is the image of a bald eagle (national symbol) and Liberty (a female allegorical image; in 1932 it was replaced by a portrait of George Washington).
In addition to the standard exchange coins, a number of commemorative/jubilee quarters have been issued.
First of all, this is the quarter "drummer" of 1975-1976 (the so-called "Washington Bicentennial"), dedicated to the 200th anniversary of the adoption of the Declaration of Independence of the USA.
Later, in 1999, the "50 State Quarters" series, known to all numismatists, was launched. Within 10 years, 50 coins dedicated to the 50 states appeared. Emission rate: 5 varieties / year. The mintage of each is from almost 417 million pieces (Oklahoma's quarter) to more than 1.5 billion coins (the state of Virginia).
After the release of the "50 states" quarters, as an addition, in 2009, 6 more coins were put into circulation: the "District of Columbia and US Territories" series (Puerto Rico, Guam, US Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands).
During 2010-2021, quarters from the series "America the Beautiful Quarters" were minted (theme: National parks and other natural objects) — 1 coin per state and 6 administrative units (5 overseas territories and a federal district).
The name of the quarter coin fully reflects its essence — 1/4 dollar.