Yeni lirasi: coin from Republic of Türkiye (Turkey)


1 yeni lirasi, 2005: Republic of Türkiye (Turkey)

1 yeni lirasi, 2005: Republic of Türkiye (Turkey)

1 YENİ TÜRK LİRASI: 1 new Turkish lirasi (lira).

Five-pointed star and crescent to the right (main elements of the state emblem of Republic of Türkiye).

TÜRKİYE CUMHURİYETİ: Republic of Turkey.

Mustafa Kemal Atatürk (Mustafa Kemal Pasha, 1881-1938: in 1934, the Turkish parliament gave him the name Atatürk — translated as "Father of the Turks" or "The Great Turk") — the first president of Turkey, the "founding father" of the Republic.

Mintage: 305.235.560.

  • Bimetallic — nickel brass centre in nickel brass ring: 26 mm - 8.5 g
  • Reference price: 0.3$

COIN YENI LIRASI — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. REPUBLIC OF TURKEY (2005-2008): yeni lirasi = 100 yeni kuruş

YENI LIRASI as coin name.
In a literal translation, the name of the coin "yeni lirasi" (it is in this format that the denomination is indicated) is translated from the Turkish language as "new lira".
Coins with this denomination (more precisely, in a more complete format — "yeni Türk lirası") are dated to the period 2005-2008.
Before that, the circulating coins of Turkey were marked "lira", and after that — "lirasi".
That is, yeni lirasi is a temporary, transitional, intermediate name of the main Turkish currency and coin.