Zaire: coin from Republic of Zaire (now DRC): 10.000 sengi


1 zaire, 1987: Republic of Zaire

1 zaire, 1987: Republic of Zaire

Republic of Zaire — Congolese state (during 1971-1997) in Central Africa that was previously and is now again known as the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC).

BANQUE DU ZAIRE: Bank of Zaire.

1 Z: 1 zaïre.

UN ZAIRE: one zaïre.

Mobutu Sese Seko Kuku Ngbendu Wa Za Banga — Congolese politician and military officer; president of Zaire during 1965-1997 (Democratic Republic of the Congo until 1971).

Royal Mint (United Kingdom).

  • Brass: 21 mm - 5 g
  • Reference price: 0.7$

COIN ZAIRE — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF THE CONGO (1970) + REPUBLIC OF ZAIRE (1971-1988): zaire = 10.000 sengi = 100 likuta (plural — makuta)
During 1996-1997, non-circulating coins denominated in Nouveaux zaïres (New zaire) were minted.

ZAIRE (French "Zaïre") as coin name.
For most of us are well known the African state of the Congo.
Fewer people would rightly say that there are two independent Congos in Africa — the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) and the Republic of the Congo.
And very few will remember that during the years 1971-1997 DRC had the name Zaire.
In the specified period, zaire was the main currency (and, accordingly, the coin) of the Republic of Zaire. That is, we are talking about a rather rare case in world numismatics — the coin received its name in honor of the name of the issuing state.