Tenga: coin from Emirate of Bukhara (1827-1920); 10 falus


Tenga, 1883: Emirate of Bukhara

1 tenga, 1883: Emirate of Bukhara

Ruler: Muzaffar bin Nasrullah — the Uzbek ruler (Emir) of Bukhara from 1860 to 1885.

Date on coin: AH 1300 (AH: Latin "Anno Hegirae" — "the year of the Hijra"; Islamic calendar) = 1883 (Gregorian calendar).

Inscription in Persian: "Struck in Bukhara".

Bukhara mint.

  • Silver: 16 mm - 3.2 g
  • Reference price: 12$

COIN TENGA — WHERE & WHEN (coins catalog: by names & emitents)
  1. EMIRATE OF BUKHARA (1827-1920): tenga = 10 falus = 4 miri
  2. KHANATE OF KHIVA (1832-1920): tenga = 10 falus = 4 miri
  3. KHANATE OF KOKAND (1826-1876): tenga = 55 pūl = 4 miri

Pay attention — the tenga of the khanates of Central Asia of the 19th and 20th centuries and the tenge of modern Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan (also Central Asia) are two different, though related, coins.

According to one version, the name of the tenga coin (respectively, the tenge of Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan teňňe as well) comes from the Turkic term "tamga", which denoted a coin stamp, a sign on the coin. However, there is information about another etymology of the name of the coin — tenga as a measure of weight.